Personal Development for Smart People Forums

Personal Development for Smart PeopleTM Forums

 

Go Back   Personal Development for Smart People Forums > Steve & Erin Pavlina > Steve Pavlina

Notices

Steve Pavlina Discuss ideas, articles, and podcasts from StevePavlina.com. New threads are automatically generated for Steve's latest blog posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2008, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
The Large Dude Scam is on a distinguished road
Default mistyped stevepavlina urls

There are several websites that seems to monetize on people on who mistype the stevepavlina.com url.

Are Steve Pavlina behind those websites, or are there other people making free money from having similiar urls?

We for example have:
stevepavline.com
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
stevepavlin.com

Seems to be websites just filled with ads.
The Large Dude Scam is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Family Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,232
Sam988 will become famous soon enough
Default

hehe this was to be expected. And no, steve is most likely not behind these websites.. if he were he would probably redirect people who misstype to the right page.
Sam988 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Family Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,606
seeker5 is a jewel in the roughseeker5 is a jewel in the roughseeker5 is a jewel in the roughseeker5 is a jewel in the rough
Default

The first few months in late 2006 I started coming on to stevepavlina.com, I kept mistyping his name one way or another. Took me a long time to be able to spell "pavlina" correct. So since I knew I'd keep getting one of those pages, I just resorted to having to do a google search for his correct page each time I came to this site until I eventually learned to spell his name right
seeker5 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 151
sidsavara is on a distinguished road
Default

They are basically domain squatting. Google and other companies, unfortunately, reward people for grabbing popularly mistyped domains such as those by letting them run ads on them.
sidsavara is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Family Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,184
WanderingOak will become famous soon enough
Default

In some cases, cyber-squatters run malware distribution sites on their impostors. There is one that I accidentally went to (reidrected to http://scan.power-antivirus-2009.com), which hid my main browser window and created a popup (even though Firefox is set to block them) that looks like a Windows Antivirus message. When you try to close the popup, a website that looks like a virus scan comes up, saying that I needed to download some antivirus software (WARNING! Resident protection system is not detected, data safety is in danger. Automatic system security scan ...). When I tried to close the website, a .exe file automatically tried to download. Fortunately, I have a Mac, but still, I wonder how many people got infected by this bug. In one case, Google itself directed me to that site, saying that it was what I was looking for.

I saw a news blurb a few days ago, warning of a vulnerability with DNS servers. I wonder if this has anything to do with it? In one case, I went to a legitimate website, and was redirected to scan.power-antivirus.
WanderingOak is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New South Wales, Australia (GMT+10)
Posts: 970
Bruce Achterberg is on a distinguished road
Default

One of the ads on ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ is "how to do a personal development."

If I click it, it tells me that "Make Money Now It's easy" and to build a skateboard ramp. Also, all of the text on the page has an ad link on it.

Clearly this site is run by Steve's evil twin who promises quick PD fixes and monetises every word of content.

Kind of reminds me when Steve had that service that had pop-up ads when you moused-over certain words.

I'm going to go build my skateboard ramp now.
Bruce Achterberg is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
StevePavlina.com Achievements! Vahid Steve Pavlina 6 06-04-2008 01:39 AM
Why Do I Come to stevepavlina.com? danas Personal Effectiveness 4 04-23-2008 07:23 AM
Internet URLs will soon allow...NON-ROMAN CHARACTERS!!!! Tasaio Technology & Technical Skills 3 10-21-2007 11:11 PM
Stevepavlina.com is worth $192,786 jamestl2 Technology & Technical Skills 17 10-18-2007 01:05 PM
Your StevePavlina.com Story Calculusaurus Steve Pavlina 51 12-06-2006 02:37 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2010 by Pavlina LLC