I have initiated the deletion process. According to the instructions, you can't see my account anymore.
For those who wish to know about the process:
it allows 14 days for you to change your mind, and re-establish your account.
An option also exists for you to let the account go dormant.
It may be of some use for those still on Facebook to share knowledges about certain activities...like, "If you un-friend someone, do they get a notice?"
Janice and I experimented with this: I "un-friended" her and we waited to see what happened. Nothing, really. Her friend count simply went down one digit. I then sent her a friendship request and we resumed the journey.
I "un-friended" a few people over the course of my stay there: I didn't need their jabber. I'm sure many didn't appreciate mine.
It is true, that the internet can be a great tool. Television could, too, but controlling economic factors influenced programming to a point of conditioning, not education. What "educational" programming that did exist, in the form of public broadcasting, Republicans tried to kill, and still do. The agenda is clear for any media: economics above life. Control instead of sharing. Division instead of equality.
We have received a request to permanently delete your account. Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days.
If you did not request to permanently delete your account, please login to Facebook to cancel this request: Login | Facebook
The Facebook Team