Originally Posted by aelle
All the cheeses that contain rennet, which is a bile from calves' stomach. The calve is killed to collect rennet, therefore it's not vegetarian. All French cheeses labelled AOC contain rennet, for example.
You have a good point that I overlooked.
Wines and beers are another which have animals products added without clearly saying so on the label:
- edible gelatin (made from bones)
- isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish)
- casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins) (Note: glues may also have this)
- animal albumin (egg)
Jello and marshmallows are also gelatin based.
Even vitamins are often coated in a gelatin capsule.
It's hard sometimes to go through life without using at least some animal laced products. The thing I learned is to not drive myself crazy worrying about the tiniest things, such as if the rubber in the soles of my shoes were produced using animal products. The important thing is that I'm removing as many of the animal products as humanly possible. Every dish you make without animal in it, is a life saved. One of my main beliefs : every meat-free choice you make does
count. Don't kill yourself over one or two little mistakes; do pat yourself on the back for all the meals & choices you did make right.